What’s on your mind? … Facebook.

For Lent this year, I decided to fast from Facebook.

Lent was a journey for me this year, that’s for sure. A long, and at first difficult, journey. Don’t believe me? You try giving up Facebook for a week. It’s a lot more difficult than it sounds.

We’ve become programmed to sit and surf Facebook, Twitter, and other social networking sites so often that it has become habitual and a part of our lifestyle.

Facebook was a temptation at first, but then once I rid myself of it, it slowly became easier. Not only did I fast the 40 days, but I fasted during the Sundays as well. If I was going to do this, I was all in.

Being back on Facebook has been interesting. Sure I still get jealous when I scroll through my newsfeed, but this time it’s different.

Very different.

A wise woman told me during the final hours of my fast from Facebook that when I become jealous because of what I see that others have in their lives that I don’t, I need to remember what I have in my life. [Thanks mom!]

I’m so incredibly blessed. I have a family who loves and supports me. I have friends who care about me and laugh with me when I do something stupid. I am able to attend college and pursue a higher education.

[I'm going to stop here. I don't want to cause jealousy in your life, because I know firsthand what jealousy can be like.]

Steering away from Facebook was one of the best things I have ever done for Lent. It was a difficult challenge, but the results were amazing. ¬†While yes, I’m back on Facebook, I have a different attitude. Jealousy will always be a challenge I face, but thanks to my mother’s wisdom, I just need to remember all the things that I have in my life that others would be jealous of. I may not have everything in my life the way I want it, but I’m so incredibly blessed.

Maybe you’ve been thinking about escaping social networking for a while. Maybe for a day, or a week, or a month. However long it is, I encourage you to do so! It’s a rewarding challenge that allows time for self reflection and thanksgiving.

So go ahead, try it! Even if it’s only for a day!

One thought on “What’s on your mind? … Facebook.

Leave a Reply

